Spinach: the Jack of all vegetables

The title may be confusing… it was supposed to be the jack of all trades, except in vegetable. Point is: spinach should be a staple in your refrigerator because it’s super healthy and you can use it many different ways.

I’m going to give you five different ways to use spinach.

 Animated Gif on Giphy

BUT you should really use organic baby spinach if you’re not going to cook it. I’m so sorry you must pay the premium, but it’s really worth it. You’re eating the very leaves that every pesticide, et cetera would have been sprayed on, so play it safe and just don’t eat all those chemicals (the FDA needs an update).

#1: Green Smoothie

I love this because I can actually make it before/ while I’m having my coffee and I literally cannot function before coffee. I am only one step above crawling to the coffee pot in the morning.
Rémi Gaillard - snail

So, if you’re in a rush in the morning and feel you have to decide between breakfast and a shower, this is the smoothie for you. Bonus: it doesn’t taste green. For one:

  • 1 banana
  • 3/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 large handful baby spinach
  • ~ 1/2 cup milk of choice (vanilla almond milk is delicious)
  • 2 tsp chia seeds (optional)
  • honey to taste (optional)

Blend until smooth and well- combined.2013-08-20 09.31.20

Super healthy breakfast that won’t ruin your bikini body… no matter who you are.

Surprise Animated Gif on Giphy

#2: Ditch iceberg

Iceberg lettuce has decent texture, but scarcely any kind of flavor or nutritional value… so why not use spinach instead? Dur.

Pictured: Portabella burger with black beans, mexican cheese blend, guacamole, and spinach

Pictured: Portabella burger with black beans, mexican cheese blend, guacamole, and spinach

#3: Sautéed

I guess you can steam it too… but you’d just put the oil back on, wouldn’t you? Maybe that’s just me. For some reason I cannot eat cooked spinach without at least a bit of olive oil. I swear my mom put vinegar on steamed spinach when I was a kid. I WILL NOT DO THAT TO YOU.

Get some olive oil and sautée it. Some different flavor combos for you:

  • Garlic, salt + pepper
  • Garlic, lemon zest, feta/parmesan/romano, toasted pine nuts, salt + pepper
  • Mushrooms, thyme, lemon zest, salt+ pepper
  • Feta, oregano, red pepper flakes, lemon zest, salt+pepper
  • Sliced almonds/ walnuts, lemon juice, a pinch of sugar, craisins

#4: In anything and everything

You can seriously sneak it into almost anything that you’re cooking and you won’t even notice. Guess how much you can add before you notice it?

New Girl Animated Gif on Giphy

…Maybe that’s a stretch. But you can add several several handfuls and not even notice because it cooks down so much. Like at least three cups of uncooked spinach in two servings of pasta sauce.

#5: Salads… I guess

Frankly, I find salads relatively boring and arduous to make at times. There’s no transformation to watch, so it just feels incomplete for me. Don’t get me wrong, I like eating them and I realize they’re necessary meals to keep me from becoming grossly overweight, but I just hate making them.

But here’s one recipe that I go to when I don’t feel like cooking:

  • Mix together 1 part lemon juice, 1 part olive oil, 1 part ricotta cheese as a dressing, toast pine nuts, slice up some strawberries. Toss all ingredients with spinach. Ta-da. Snore.

Arrested Development Animated Gif on Giphy

This entry was published on August 25, 2013 at 10:51 pm and is filed under The Basics. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Spinach: the Jack of all vegetables

  1. Pingback: What Do I Do With…Lemon Zest | Love A Natural Me

Leave a Reply

